Kentucky parents complete leadership training program

Author: Lisa Deffendall • First Posted: Friday, January 12, 2007

LEXINGTON, Ky. – Twenty-eight Kentucky parents have completed a nationally recognized program designed to help them become more effective education advocates.
The parents participated in the fall sessions of the Commonwealth Institute for Parent Leadership, an initiative of the Prichard Committee for Academic Excellence. The institute, established in 1997, prepares parents to work toward higher achievement for all public school students by expanding the meaningful involvement and engagement of parents. Since its creation, the institute has trained more than 1,350 Kentucky parents as education advocates.
The 28 new institute fellows completed a series of training sessions held in Lexington. Each parent will now be responsible for involving other parents in a follow-up project to accelerate the academic achievement of students at his or her child’s school.
The 2006 Commonwealth Institute services parents in Fayette County and is funded by a grant from the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation.
The recent graduates were:
              Rebecca Adkins, Athens-Chilesburg Elementary School
              Linda Borkosky, Millcreek Elementary School
              Melody Brooks, Dixie Elementary School
              Faith Calhoun, Booker T. Washington Academy Elementary School
              LaTonya Cunningham, Bryan Station High School
              Tania Dunbar, Julius Marks Elementary School
              Amanda Ferguson, Cassidy Elementary School
              Nancy Goulson, Henry Clay High School
              Edna Graves, Lexington Traditional Magnet School
              Joe Halfhill Jr., Deep Springs Elementary School
              Stephanie Halfhill, Deep Springs Elementary School
              Devonia Kay Huff, Arlington Elementary School
              Jacquette Johnson, Linlee Elementary School
              Cynthia Kay, Booker T. Washington Academy Elementary School
              Rachel Losch, Northern Elementary School
              Terrice May, Dixie Elementary School
              Karla Mays, Edythe J. Hayes Middle School
              Lana McLimore, Dixie Elementary School
              Robin Miller, Maxwell Elementary School
              Alana Morton, Northern Elementary School
              Robert Price, Dixie Elementary School
              Beth Rankin, Dixie Elementary School
              Tabiath Reece, Johnson Elementary School
              Sandra Robertson-Long, Arlington Elementary School
              Debbie Scott, Jessie Clark Middle School
              Cecilia Teater, Southern Elementary School
              Paula Ann Washington, Tates Creek High School
              Suzette Yates, Clays Mill Elementary School


Read more FCPS news and features